12
Sep
11

Taro: The vegetable that could feed a small village

OK – I have a new appreciation for taro Colocasia esculenta. I had no idea they could get that big.

Somehow found myself checking out Scot Nelson’s photos on Flickr – I don’t know how, it’s the internet, it does these things. I was quite taken by Some important plants of Hawaii and just smitten with his snaps of Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden, Papaikou. And maybe a little grossed out by some of his other images. Man, I wanna go to Hawaii. Oh how I’d love to move there and do plant science at University of Manoa. Sigh…

2 Responses to “Taro: The vegetable that could feed a small village”


  1. 1 Emily
    September 24, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    Wow! that’s massive. Congratulations! You must have green fingers! I heard taro plant can be poisonous. Is it true? Anyone knows? Can I grown taro in a pot?

  2. September 24, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    Thanks Emily, but these beauties have nothing to do with me.

    Yes, taro is poisonous when raw. It needs to be cooked properly. Here’s instructions and a recipe from a blog I trust:
    http://www.justhungry.com/how-cook-taro-root-or-satoimo

    And yes, taro grows really well in pots :)

    Cheers,
    Anna


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Social Media

Follow Me on Pinterest
OOOOBY
September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

