06
Oct
11

Uses for lemons 005: Ant Patrol

I bake a lot and I make lots of sweets and chocolate. I also live in an old house, on a sand dune, where ants like to feel at home.  So after any sugar-laden cooking session I need to clean up very well and I used to spend ages trying to get every last sugary morsel off the bench. I have since found an easier way.

Chop a lemon in half and wipe down the bench with it. The lemon juice interrupts those devilish ant sensors and they just don’t come a’callin.

See more of LovePlantLife’s uses for lemons.

3 Responses to “Uses for lemons 005: Ant Patrol”


  1. October 11, 2011 at 1:31 am

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and leaving that sweet comment! Love this idea — it really is brilliant! Will definitely give it a try. :)

  2. October 14, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    And thank you so much for dropping in. An Edible Mosaic is just wonderful – it makes me so hungry :)

  3. October 17, 2011 at 7:44 am

    Thanks for that – will try! I had a terrible experience the other week where I had left a small sugar bag open in our pantry … We had people to stay, and in the morning they were making cups of tea. One asked where the sugar was. I didn’t have my glasses on, so everything was a blur of shapes and colours. I grabbed the sugar-bag shaped thing and handed it to her. Unbeknown to me in my semi-blindness it was completely swarming with hundreds and hundreds of ants. Luckily she is a staunch and unflappable sort of woman …


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Social Media

Follow Me on Pinterest
OOOOBY
October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

