21
Jan
12

A quick round-up: Less glyphosate, more mind-dump.

Valerian – Used by many to help with sleep. Flowering prolifically here right now, but there’s not much sleeping going on.

For 9 months I almost had the perfect baby–happy, healthy and slept like a hibernating bear! From six weeks my little darling slept through the night – 11-12 hours. And now the bear has awoken and won’t go back to sleep.

My mind is off on more tangents than a trigonometry convention. And so time to note them down here so I can be held to task later, when I finally get some sleep. I will someday sleep again, right?

In the works right now, I’m a’workin’ on:

  • NZ Food Bill – I’ve been trying to write something on this for the last two months. Every time I try, I get more confused. I’m trying to write something that illuminates rather than adds to the murky misinformation and just plain scaremongering out there now. Something will be up soon, hopefully before the bill gets passed.
  • While we talk about Bills, find out about the Natural Health Products Bill and have your say, so we don’t get into the same mess.
  • Working on posts about blood pressure, water meters, a GE primer, organic farming and seed collecting.
  • Planning a new Friday feature for the blog, which I think is pretty exciting.
  • And I’m working on a new website…actually, two. Details as they happen.
  • And I’m thinking it’s about time for a redesign for this one.
  • I’ve got a couple of seedsaving workshops coming up. Look out for Edible Backyard’s Summer Festival and the Sustainable Home & Garden Show.
  • I’ve kept it simple this year and I’m only growing several types of lettuce, herbs, flowers and beans for seed at the moment.
  • I’m updating the seeds and info that you can buy online. And thank you to the dear people who are buying my seeds on Trade Me. You’re keeping me in raspberry slice and I am eternally grateful.
  • My garden beds need to be rescued from a forest of lemon balm.
  • I’m building a more organised area for raising seeds at home so I can do more seedlings and better germination testing.
  • Zinnias – I have a wee obsession forming. Think my old potato bed is about to get a makeover.

All of this unfolds around an upwardly mobile baby menace and a hungry, hungry husband. So stuff is happening but sometimes the pace is a bit glacial. Stay tuned for more exciting botanical adventures.

2 Responses to “A quick round-up: Less glyphosate, more mind-dump.”


  1. January 23, 2012 at 10:16 am

    Wee obsessions are one of the gardener’s greatest tools. Loving that Valerian pic. It never looks that neat and tidy for me. Maybe it’s time to try again!

  2. January 23, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    My valerian may have been deceiving. The 2 metre flower stalks went all higgeldy piggeldy in the wind, to put it mildly. But the flowers are so pretty that a well framed shot like this was a necessity. I do so like valerian and it is such a wonderful companion for my beans :)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Social Media

Follow Me on Pinterest
OOOOBY
January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

