30
Apr
09

Permaculture worm tower

I love simple, cheap and appropriate ideas that make gardening easier and fun. At the first Seedy Sunday we showed three videos with this philosophy in mind.

My two previous attempts at worm farming had ended badly with the bins being overrun with nasties that killed off the worms. But I so love the simplicity and ease of this idea I’m going to give it another shot. This is a great way to get nutrients straight into your garden.


4 Responses to “Permaculture worm tower”


  1. 1 hannah
    May 6, 2010 at 7:32 am

    have you tried this yet Anna?

  2. May 7, 2010 at 10:55 am

    Absolutely, I’ve had mine operating for the last year and I’m thrilled with it. I’ll try to throw together a post this afternoon talking about it. In short – I totally recommend it!

  3. 3 Dan
    April 15, 2011 at 4:04 am

    Just remember to keep the worms wet but not too wet. I have found that you don’t want to add meat. Worms seem to have a hard time digesting that and the meat will bring other critters. I have a worm tower that the top tray will get some other bugs but they don’t go down into the second or third or fourth tray.

  4. April 28, 2011 at 11:06 am

    Thanks Dan, completely agree. We eat very little meat and what scraps we do have go to the neighbour’s cats. We haven’t had any problems with rodents trying to get in, but that may also be due to the cats. We also use a piece of sacking that keeps off a lot of rain and insulates it in winter. Tiger worms are a tropical species so they don’t like cold winters.


Leave a comment


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Social Media

Follow Me on Pinterest
OOOOBY
April 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930